Australia Day

Australia Day is an annual, multi venue, event held to celebrate what's great about Australia and being Australian. It's the day to reflect on what we have achieved and what we can be proud of in our great nation. Narrandera Shire celebrates the occasion through an array of activities throughout the day.

Events are held during the day throughout the Shire at Narrandera, Barellan and Grong Grong.

Australia Day Honour Boards


Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year
1994   Adrian Kirk Karyn Chittick
1995 Henry Mathieson Ian Limbrick Heidi Clarke
1996 Sheila Doyle Nathan Taylor Josephine Smith
1997 Mary Sutcliffe Simon Barrit Rhianon Smith
1998 Graham Browne Christine McDermott  
1999 Helen McDermott Carl Smith  
2000 Margaret Jones Ben Murphy Julie Horsburgh
2001 Les & Anne Wall Renee Lucas Melonie Hutchinson
2002 Valma Hawker Stephen Gilmour  
2003 Roy Wade Alastair MacDonald  
2004 Bill Ohlsen Rachel Gilmour  
2005 Tony Andracchio Luke Breuling  
2006 Neville Mitchell Brent Lawrence Caitlin Tubb
2007 Marie (Jan) Evans Kerrie O’Callaghan


Year Citizen of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Sports Achievement Business of the Year "Lifelong" Citizen of the Year Achiever of the Year Young Achiever of the Year Community Event of the Year Group/Organisation of the Year
2008 Cheryl Mayberry Mark Gilmour Nathaniel Romeo Golden Grain Gazette Marg Anslow Michael Gooley Bradley Wilson Barellan Drought Relief Concert Narrandera Community Transport Volunteers
2009 Peter Royle Warwick Smith Gayle Murphy Barellan Swimming Pool Rhonda Ellis Adam Buchanan Victoria Stanmore Narrandera Show 2008 Narrandera CWA
2010 Ron (Blue) Absolom Gillian Lee Narrandera Swimming and Life Saving Club Coroco Furniture Lillian Mills   Karl French Barellan Centenary Celebrations Soroptimists International
2011 Gayle Murphy Cassandra Lee Zac Williams Narrandera District Community Bank Shirley Walsh Benjamin Kschenka Rachael Williams Narrandera Fisheries ‘Fish and Family Fun Day’




Citizen of the Year
(Aged 25 and Over)

Young Citizen of the Year
(Aged between 16 and 25)
Loyal Citizen to the Shire Organisation of the Year
2012 Simon Lee Bradley Wilson Les Wall and Roy Wade Barellan Working Clydesdales



Citizen of the Year
(Aged 25 and Over)

Young Citizen of the Year
(Aged between 16 and 25)
Senior Citizen of the Year Organisation of the Year
2013 Rustty Lake-Connolly Natalie Hoogers Thelma Malcolm Narrandera High School Staff and Students
2014 Neville Kschenka Rachel Warren Matilda Muller Narrandera Landcare Inc and Narrandera's Sesquicentenary Planning Committee
2015 Barbara Bryon Hayley Galvin Thomas Herbert Manning Barellan Aged Care Support Group and Narrandera Community Radio Spirit FM
2016 David Polhill Rachel Beer Betty Bradney and Janice McGilvray The Classic Ball Committee
2017 Rachael Hyde Jack Langley Stan Grant Narrandera Amateur Swimming and Life Saving Club and
Binya Hall Committee
2018 Beverley Hughes Matthew Whiteman Dot Charles Can Assist
2019 Dr Joseph Romeo Renae Glavin Jocelyn Middleton Narrandera Bidgee Boxing
2020 Louise Mulligan Braden Lyons Bob and Neta Close  Narrandera Golf Club Volunteers

Monthly Council updates: