About Council

About Council

Our present Narrandera Shire was formed on 1 January 1960 by an amalgamation of the previous Narrandera Municipality and part of the Yanko Shire. The present Shire is similar to the original 1906 boundaries. with the exception of the western part that was reassigned to Leeton in 1929-30. The first Narrandera Municipality was incorporated on 18 March 1885.

Narrandera is centred on the Murrumbidgee River and the Shire includes the townships of Barellan and Grong Grong, with Binya village and a number of farming localities all contributing to the unique characteristics of our Local Government area.

Our Council is community focused and is committed to providing quality services for residents while building a bright future for our Shire. 

Do you wonder what it's like working in Local Government? Click here to find out.
Council is structured into Executive Services, Corporate and Community Services and Infrastructure Services.
Our Council of nine was elected in September 2016 for the term of 2016 - 2020.
Is currently looking for new recruits to join the Youth Advisory Council. If you are aged 12 - 21 and are interested in
Our Councillors represent the community in decision making on all Council matters.

Monthly Council updates: